Skip survey header

2020 CJJ Annual Conference Awards Nomination Form

CJJ welcomes nominations for our three annual awards. The awards will be presented at the 2020 CJJ Annual Conference. The deadline to submit nominations is Friday, February 28, 2020 at 11:59 pm ET.

Tony Gobar Outstanding Juvenile Justice Specialist Award
Through this award, named in honor of the late Tony Gobar, a long-time Juvenile Justice Specialist from Mississippi, the Coalition for Juvenile Justice (CJJ) recognizes a state Juvenile Justice Specialist who has exemplified excellence in service to others; has been dedicated and committed to improving the juvenile justice system; and has demonstrated compassion and concern for juveniles and advocates.
To be eligible, the nominee must either be a current Juvenile Justice Specialist or have been out of the position of Juvenile Justice Specialist no more than 5 years.  

Nominees should demonstrate the following characteristics:
  • Excellence in service to others
  • Dedication and commitment to improving the juvenile justice system
  • Compassion and concern for juveniles and advocates
  • Agreement with the core positions held by the Coalition for Juvenile Justice
Spirit of Youth Award 
Each year, the Spirit of Youth Award is given by the Coalition for Juvenile Justice (CJJ) to recognize and celebrate a young adult who overcame personal obstacles in his/her life, but is now making significant contributions to society. 
This award provides CJJ and the public with an important opportunity to learn from a young person’s first-hand life experiences such as how juvenile justice professionals and systems can most effectively be of help. Important questions are raised: What worked? What could have been done better? What enabled this young person to overcome obstacles and make such big changes in his or her life?
The award recipient must be:
  • 28 years old or younger
  • A person who was an adjudicated delinquent and/or formally involved in the juvenile justice system 
  • Currently involved, directly or indirectly, in bettering the lives of youth

A.L. Carlisle Child Advocacy Award
The A.L. Carlisle Child Advocacy Award is presented by the Coalition for Juvenile Justice (CJJ) annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to youth, to juvenile justice improvement efforts, or in the broader area of juvenile justice and delinquency prevention concerns.
The following criteria are among those used to select the award recipient:
  • Has been a role model for youth
  • Assisted in passing legislation to assist justice-involved youth
  • Positively contributed to the judicial system to assist youth
  • Developed or implemented a pioneering youth program or initiative
  • Contributed to improvements in the area of delinquency prevention
  • Served as an outstanding juvenile justice worker/practitioner
  • Spent many years contributing to juvenile justice improvement efforts
  • Made a significant impact on juvenile justice system reform
The award is named in honor of A. L. Carlisle, the founder of CJJ. Starting out as a volunteer activist dedicated to the nation’s most troubled and vulnerable youth, she eventually served as the first CJJ National Chair from 1979 - 1987. The saying goes that, in its formative years, “the National Coalition was run out of A. L.’s kitchen in Maine!”