Skip survey header

Understanding your child's hearing loss and the importance of the Ling 6 Sounds Test

Hear to Learn

March 2018 – (03/14/2018)

Topic: “Understanding your child’s audiogram and the importance of the Ling 6 Sounds Test”*
*This webinar is in English

Date: Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Time: 11:00 am – 11:30 am (MST)

Presenter: Rene Lucero, PhD; Ana Caballero, M.D, Au.D.

The Ling Six Sounds Test, developed by Dr. Daniel Ling, is a simple way to check if someone can hear the speech sounds that are needed to develop their listening and speaking skills.  It is important for a parent to learn how to perform a listening check using the Ling 6 Sounds test. Ideally, parents should also be able to troubleshoot their child’s hearing devices at home, without having to pay for an audiological visit. Join us for this month’s webinar, as we will review terminology to help you interpret your child’s audiogram, understand the importance of and learn how to perform a Ling 6 Sound Test, and explore different troubleshooting strategies.


Learning Objectives: 

At the end of this session, participants will be able to:

  1. Describe basic terminology related to interpreting the audiogram

  2. Explain the importance of the Ling 6 Sound Test

  3. Perform a listening check

  4. Explore different troubleshooting strategies

  5. Understand important speech acoustic information for each of the 6 phonemes



Renee Lucero, Ph.D., LSLS Cert. AVEd

Renee Polanco Lucero, is an assistant professor at Utah State University and worked as a teacher of the Deaf for 15 years, in early intervention, the classroom, and as an itinerant teacher. Her primary interests are in working with culturally and linguistically diverse families and the implementation of LSL interventions in the school setting.


Ana Caballero, M.D., Au.D.

Dr. Ana Caballero is an international PhD student at Utah State University. She is originally from El Salvador, earned a medical degree in Cuba, and recently completed her Au.D. from Utah State University. Her clinical research project explored pediatric hearing aid experiences of Hispanic parents. Her current research is focused on advocacy and helping Hispanic families affected by hearing loss.

Webinar start times (by time zone)

  • 10:00 am - 10:30 am PT
  • 11:00 am - 11:30 am MT
  • 12:00 pm - 12:30 pm CT
  • 1:00 pm - 1:30 pm ET

Once you have submitted the registration information, a confirmation email will be sent to your email address with additional webinar participation/ login information. Please contact Ana Caballero if you have not received a confirmation email two days prior to the webinar.