Skip survey header

Weathering the Storms Digital Security Technical Assistance Cohort Application Fall 2018

Thank you for your interest in RoadMap's Digital Security Technical Assistance cohort!

If you are interested in participating in the cohort please complete the following application. If there are more applicants than we can include in the Spring cohort, priority will be given to organizations who have completed the "Getting and Keeping your House in Order Checklist” and have set up a Crisis Management Plan. 

Note, this is not a secure platform, so if you feel that any of the questions require sharing sensitive information, leave the field blank. 

When: Two-hour virtual meetings beginning Friday, September 7th at 10:30 am PT / 11:30 am MT / 12:30 pm CT / 1:30 pm ET, and every Friday thereafter. Total of 6-weeks.

Who: We ask that at least one staff member from your organization participate

Co-pay: $300
(for organizations with a funder subsidizing Weathering the Storms services) 
Fee: $1,000 (for organizations without a funder subsidizing WTS services)

Deadline to apply: Thursday, August 30th 5:00 pm PT / 6:00 pm MT / 7:00 pm CT / 8:00 pm ET

Grassroots social justice movements against the Trump administration have built an unparalleled upsurge in national protest and political engagement. However, the organizations working on heated election campaigns in 2018 must learn from the opposition cyberattacks of 2016 and increase their cybersecurity. 

Lack of cybersecurity played its part in previous years and is already impacting the 2018 election cycle. From the recent spoofed phishing emails asking for money from Senatorial candidate supporters to hacking attacks on campaign groups which drove Trump’s rise to power - such as “Project Veritas” the organization run by James O’Keefe & supported by Trump, has used dirty tricks, hacks, and highly edited undercover video to undermine both progressive political organizations and mainstream news outlets. 

This Fall 2018 Digital Security cohort builds on the success of RoadMap's past three digital security cohorts where we trained key staff in more than fifty organizations.

Over the course of six weeks of interactive sessions we will cover these ten topics, leaving each participant with secure tools they can apply to their work:

1) Digital security, ethics and organizing in the modern era.
2) Managing password and credentials.
3) Mobile security and organizer engagement.
4) Browsing, Doxxing, and onions.
5) Fishing, spoofing and tracking: Email encryption.
6) Collective work, video chat and usability.
7) Storage, sharing, and docs.
8) Endpoint security and updates.
9) Human rights and mass surveillance.
10) Threat modeling and Compartmentalization.

The training team, Mike Tyner and Jonathan Stribling-Uss, bring to bear more than a decade of collective experience in progressive education, organizing, and technical digital security skills.

Mike Tyner is a digital security trainer with Constitutional Communications and teacher. For over ten years, Mr. Tyner has taught film, technology and African-American history at one of New York's most successful alternative public high schools, Urban Academy Laboratory. Mr. Tyner also worked as a technology educator at Guttman Community College and through the non-profit, New York Performance Standards Consortium, he trained educators from over fifty schools in media and digital literacy. too long drop this last sentence Mr. Tyner is also a filmmaker and advocate for inquiry-based pedagogy.

Jonathan Stribling-Uss, Esq. is the director of Constitutional Communications (www.concomms.org) and a don't need to say WTS here just RMap consultant Weathering The Storms RoadMap consultant. He has led training for hundreds of attorneys and law students on cybersecurity, professional ethics, international law, and attorney-client communications. He has also trained journalists, foundations, activists, and technologists from more then 40 countries. His work has been featured in The American Bar Association (ABA) Journal, The Indypendent, NY Magazine, and The New York Law Journal.

 

Deadline to apply: Thursday, August 30th 5:00 pm PT / 6:00 pm MT / 7:00 pm CT / 8:00 pm ET