Skip survey header

2019 Innovation in Conservation Award


2019 Innovation in Conservation Award

The Innovation in Conservation Award recognizes a park or recreation agency that is leading an innovative project or program that creates a localized solution for addressing global or regional environmental challenges.

The submission deadline is March 29, 2019

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Must be a current member of NRPA (Membership can be as an agency member, the agency director, or program director)
  • The agency:
    • Is leading a project or program that creates a localized solution for addressing a global or regional environmental challenge
    • Demonstrates a commitment to environmental stewardship and long term health of the environment
    • Demonstrates a commitment to educating and activating the public around environmental and conservation concerns
    • Use best conservation practices within the project or program
  • All programs or projects submitted with this nomination must have been implemented within 12 months prior to the nominations deadline.

Required Materials:

  • Completed application form
  • Testimonial from a community member (non-staff) about impact of project/program

Optional Materials:

  • One additional supplemental item which highlights the effects and achievements of the project/program

Submission Instructions:

  • All submissions must be received by NRPA no later than 11:59 p.m. EST on March 29, 2019. NRPA will not return any materials submitted with the nomination.
  • The official NRPA application must be submitted to apply.
  • All materials must be submitted electronically using this survey format.
  • Submit no more than one supplemental item. (If submitting a link, please provide URL address, not a hyperlink to ensure connectivity).
  • Submission is automatically disqualified if it does not meet criteria, submission instructions, or if the responses are over the word limit.
  • This format has a save and continue feature that is located in the banner at the bottom of the question pages.

For more information, contact the NRPA Awards Program at (703) 858-2196 or